The National Broadband Network (NBN) is a wholesale-only, open access high-speed broadband network that will deliver high-speed broadband to all Australians. The NBN will involve the laying of fibre optic cabling to 93 per cent of Australian homes, schools and businesses, providing broadband speeds of up to 100 megabits per second (Mbps).

Work on the cable infra-structure throughout Australia and is currently on the way and the laying out another nine new sites in Queensland, NSW and the ACT will commence over the next six months.

Communications Minister Stephen Conroy said Springfield Lakes and Aspley in the Brisbane region, Toowoomba in Queensland, Riverstone in Western Sydney, Coffs Harbour, NSW, and Gungahlin, ACT, are next in line for the NBN.

The federal government-owned NBN Co will also extend its current network in Armidale, Kiama and Jamberoo in NSW as well as Townsville in Queensland, he said.

"Already communities in first release sites of Armidale and Minnamurra/Kiama Downs have been connected to the NBN. Soon the communities of Brunswick, Townsville and Willunga will also be connected," Senator Conroy said.

"These nine sites represent more than 50,000 premises that will be connected with fibre optic cable that will deliver high speed broadband to every home, business and institution that wants it," Senator Conroy said in a statement.


Armidale - August

Coffs Harbour - August

Kiama / Jamberoo - September

Riverstone - November


Aspley - December

Goodna / Springfield Lakes - November

Toowoomba - October

Townsville - September


Gungahlin - October