The Constituency of St. John whose representative was the Late Prime Minister of Barbados David Thompson, will have a by-election within 90 Days of his passing.

This is according to the Barbados Constitution which speaks to the filling of vacancies in the Senate and the House of Assembly.

Filling of Casual Vacancies in Senate and Assembly

47.1. Whenever any person vacates his seat as a Senator for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament, the Governor General shall appoint a person to fill the vacancy under the same provisions of section 36 as the person whose seat has become vacant was appointed.

2. Whenever any person vacates his seat as a ember of the House of Assembly for any reason other than a dissolution of Parliament, the Governor General shall issue a writ for the election of a member to fill the vacancy returnable within ninety days from the occurrence of the vacancy.

The 90 day count starts on the day of Thompson's death. Is it just a coincidence then that the prime minister died 90 days before the National Day of former representative for the St. John area Errol Barrow, or was it divine?

The by-election has to be called by January 21, 2011, the day Barbados celebrates Errol Barrow Day. Mr. Barrow, a national hero, represented the people of St John from 1958 until 1987 when he died in office.

Mr. Barrow was also member of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP), and prime minister of Barbados when he died.

Who will take the mantle left by The Honourable David Thompson for the Democratic Labour Party in the St. John constituency hasn't at this time been released to the public, but many believe this seat will be guaranteed to the DLP party.

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) has also not release who will be contesting the vacant seat for that party, but this will offer the party an opportunity to behave as a unity after a period of disunity which has seen the replacement of party leader Mia Mottley by former leader and Prime Minister Owen Arthur.

The BLP party also witnessed the replacement of two of its senators Liz Thompson, and Arthur Holder for Santia Bradshaw, and Kerrie Symmonds.